FA Cup – Arsenal Chelsea Manchester United Liverpool Manchester City Tottenham learn third-round opponents

The draw for the third round of the FA Cup was revealed on Monday, with Manchester United hosting Steven Gerrard’s Aston Villa and defending champions Leicester City welcoming former coach Claudio Ranieri and Watford among the most famous matches.

– ESPN+ viewers guide: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, FA Cup and more
– Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (US only)
– You don’t have ESPN? Get instant pass

matches (Select games broadcast on ESPN+ in the US), which will be played from January 7-10, includes the English Premier League and Championship League teams. Replays will return to this season’s competition after being dropped for reasons imposed by COVID-19 last season.

This will be the first trip by Liverpool legend Gerrard to Old Trafford since taking over as Villa manager.

Ranieri led Leicester to his unexpected career to win the Premier League title in the 2015-2016 season. Now Watford boss Ranieri and his team will visit the Foxes, who won the cup under Brendan Rodgers last May in a 2-1 win over Chelsea at Wembley.

West Ham United hosting Leeds United is the other confrontation that includes two teams from the Premier League.

Other notable encounters include Chelsea hosting Chesterfield from outside the league, Shrewsbury Town visiting Anfield to face Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur receiving Morecambe, Arsenal traveling to Nottingham Forest, and Manchester City away to Swindon Town.

Draw for the third round of the FA Cup in full:

Boreham Wood or St Albans – Wimbledon

Yeovil Town – Bournemouth

Stoke City x Leyton Orient

Swansea City / Southampton

Chelsea x Chesterfield Town

Liverpool x Shrewsbury Town

Cardiff City – Preston North End

Coventry City x Derby County

Burnley x Huddersfield Town

West Bromwich Albion x Brighton & Hove Albion

Kidderminster Harriers vs Reading

Leicester City / Watford

Mansfield Town x Middlesbrough

Hartlepool United / Blackpool

Hull City / Everton

Bristol City x Fulham

Tottenham Hotspur x Morecambe

Millwall x Crystal Palace

Port Vale in Brentford

Swindon Town – Manchester City

Wigan Athletic – Blackburn Rovers

Luton Town vs Harrogate Town

Birmingham City – Plymouth Argyle

Manchester United / Aston Villa

Wolverhampton Wanderers / Sheffield United

Newcastle United – Cambridge United

Barnsley – Ipswich Town or Barrow

Peterborough United / Bristol Rovers

West Ham United x Leeds United

Queens Park Rangers – Rotherham United

Charlton Athletic / Norwich City

Nottingham Forest – Arsenal


Leave a Comment